caffeine withdrawal?

I stopped drinking coffee, cold turkey, on Friday.  I had been limiting my caffeine intake for a little under a week and then just decided to do it – throw it all in.  Man that headache.  I mean, MAN that headache.  It was so bad.  We were sitting at the airport and I couldn’t handle it so I went and grabbed some dark chocolate – I know this is cheating, but I had to do something to at least ease it off a little. This helped, but not by much.  I drank a ton of water and once we landed in Vegas and got settled, I was finally feeling a little better.  I guess I should be thankful that it didn’t really get much worse.  The net day I just drank tea and a lot of water, there was a semi-dull headache but nothing intolerable. Then next day was easier, and then the next…I’ll admit I snuck a sip of jasmine tea when Rory went to the restroom at dinner the other night!

Tea.  I think I’ll try to make herbal tea my thing. Or shrubs (drinking vinegar). I had a ginger molasses shrub this morning at breakfast and it was SO good. I might try to make some for myself but I need more quart mason jars! I like the idea of preserving things, not to mention its good for the gut.  An old friend from high school, who I recently re-connected with in LA, said that apple cider vinegar also helps get rid of the candida in your colon or gut! I didn’t know this was a thing; and I wonder if many people I know suffer from candida overgrowth!  In order to reduce the candida overgrowth in my household – I might turn to shrubs.  Rory and I both are trying to cut back of drinking booze, so this might be a nice addition!

I also made 4 different types of overnight oatmeal yesterday.  So tasty!  And, so easy. I started here and made a few of her versions! I’ll let you know if I like them or not!

For dinner last night I made an easy lemon and garlic chicken thigh, a simple salad and farro w. mushrooms and herbs!  The farro was delish, almost like risotto. Below is the recipe for you.  I will say that this is a very rich dish, so I would serve it with something very light and fresh.  The chicken thighs felt a little rich too – it was a good dinner but could have had a grilled fish or a big fresh salad and would have been even better!

Farro w. Wild Mushrooms and Herbs
adapted from epicurious
serves 4 small servings

ingredients
2 C semi-pearled faro
Kosher salt
2 T (or more) olive oil
4 C (8oz) assorted mushroom (I just went to Whole Foods and picked up a trio medley, you can really use ANY kind!), cut into 1 in. pieces
Freshly ground pepper
1 C low-sodium chicken broth
3 1/4 C (1/2 sitck) unsalted butter, cut into 1/2 in. cubes
2 T chopped flat leaf parsley (who uses curly parsley anymore!?)
2 T chopped chives
2 T chopped thyme
a few grates of fresh Parmesan

directions
1) Cook farro in boiling salted water until tender, about 20 minutes. Drain, let cool, and set aside. (DO AHEAD: Farro can be made 2 days ahead. Cover and chill.)

2) Heat 2 tablespoons oil in a large heavy skillet over medium-high heat until it shimmers (the oil needs to be very hot to crisp the mushrooms). Working in batches, add a single layer of mushrooms to skillet. Cook, turning once, until crisp and cooked through, 4–5 minutes. Transfer to a plate; season with salt and pepper.

3) Bring broth to a simmer in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Add farro and cook, stirring often, until heated through. Season farro with salt and pepper. Add butter and stir vigorously to combine and create a creamy texture. Add the parmesan. Add mushrooms, parsley, chives, and thyme; stir just to evenly incorporate. Serve immediately.

Leave a comment